Bubblepunk

An origin story

I started drawing when I was two years old, and never stopped. I drew upside down, sideways, during maths, on the walls.

An very early portrait of my brother.

Growing up I wanted to become an animator for Disney, but my parents were adamant that there was no future in animation, so I studied Architecture instead. I designed a church while studying, and later a hospital and wharf buildings in the early 90’s, while working for architectural firms as a young draftsman.

I designed this church in Australia when I was 19.

I went back to University for a BA in Communication Design, where I learned video, 3D, photoshop, programming, and worked at one of the first web design agencies - ever - designing 300 websites between 1995-1996.

Over the next 20 years I honed my skills as a Flash programmer, concept artist and Art Director in advertising for TBWA, BBDO, Havas Worldwide and more. I experimented with Google’s DeepDream (2015), Artbreeder (2019) and NVIDIA’s This Person Does Not Exist (2019), but it was in April 2022 I became one of the early adopters of Midjourney and DALLE.

I was hooked. I combined my workflows and techniques with hand sketches, Procreate, Photoshop, Blender, and applied it to some of the design work I was doing at the time.

My stylistic and thematic choices were alien landscapes and sci-fi environments, architectural structures, and the characters that lived in them - which now I could imbue with my own values.

Inclusivity had been in my radar for a long time. As a Chilean / Spanish / Australian living in the Netherlands, I was always aware of ethnic differences and representation. Through people close and dear to me, I was also aware and a staunch voice (and action) of support for women equality, body positivity, and LGBTQ+, with a strong sense of activism and awareness for socio-economical injustice and inequity. Through my own personal journey, I have recently added neurodivergence to my list of values, which I incorporate across my body of work.

My artistic sensibility and perspective resonated with other early adopters, and I grew confident, establishing a recognizable brand that grew over time - and became ‘Bubblepunk’. My work has been a lifetime in the making, I hope you enjoy it, too.